New member with a project

Hello
A couple years ago I bought an Anycubic 3D printer.
I made the little owl that is the test/setup figure and I have not done anything since then.
I tried to get some help from a friend but his answer was “You should learn how to do it yourself”.
So I am here to get some help.
The item I wish to make is very simple. It is basically a cylinder with a flange at the top to keep it from sliding to far over the sunshade it has to fit over.
It will be a Solar Eclipse Filter Material holder.
I bought a roll of ABS material to make it out of.

I am familiar with CadCam as I am a retired machinist and I use to have CNC milling machines and made aluminum parts for the film industry.
But how to get my design into actual code that my Anycubic printer will under stand is where I am held up. Many of the questions I answered to become a member here I had to guess at, as I don’t really know what software (etc.) I need to get to do the job.

I am eager to learn and start.
Any help/support would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry if I have put this in the wrong category.
Greg

Hi there, Greg. This is Alberto from Spain.

The first thing would be to turn your CAD design into a “*.STL” file that you could load in the slicer of prefference. A slicer is a piece of software that creates a gcode file, which is basically a text file that is then sent to the printer to start printing. The gcode file is the code you are talking about. The code the printer will “understand”.

A slicer needs a “*.STL” file, a 3d model previosly designed in any of the 3d tools available; Thinkercad, Fusion 360, 3ds Max 2025, Blender… there are many !

And there are also some slicers that you could use; Orca Slicer, PrusaSlicer, ideaMaker, Ultimaker Cura… I advice you to use Orca Slicer.

1 Like

Thank you.
Does the cad file have to be a 3D model or can it just be a 3D wire frame?
I’ll start reading about the items you mentioned today.

Thanks again.